Everyday Beer

28 Dec

If you open most refrigerators in the USA, on any given day, you’ll discover someone’s everyday beer. It’s not necessarily their favorite one, but it’s their reliable, go-to beer. Growing up in my family the everyday beer was always the one on sale. There was no serious brand preference given that a good deal from any decent brewer could change a purchase plan. To a point.

Even my coupon-cutting, penny- and pound-wise mother never drank jokey cans of Generic Beer; nor did she succumb to the limpid national lagers from St. Louis or Milwaukee. Instead, we grew up with the equally limpid local lagers from San Francisco’s Hamm’s and Burgermeister breweries in our family ‘frig. It’s little wonder, then, that I did not take a strong fancy to beer until I after I got out in the world and enjoyed good beer and ales not chosen primarily by price alone.

In the mid-1970s while living in Kentucky Pabst Blue Ribbon was popular among the people I met in the Bluegrass state. But I preferred my brewed tipple to come from regional beer makers such as Louisville’s Falls City or Little King’s Cream Ale out of Cincinnati. They had a bit more flavor and had the cachet to me of being local.

Later in the decade while in Germany I had the exact opposite experience. I enjoyed making the weekly run to the store to choose crates of beer to heft home despite literally living across the street from the Schlossquelle brewery in Heidelberg. We rarely bought the local stuff, choosing instead our pils and exports from the likes of Gilde, Dinkle Acker, Eichbaum, and others. Only when Schlossquelle was at rock bottom prices would we get it. But when you had the array of fabulous beer choices as we did then, it’s not surprising I learned to be a beer snob while there.

However, as luck would have it, we next moved to Nevada in the early 1980s, which might be dubbed my beer exile in the desert. There Budweiser became my everyday beer. It wasn’t as cheap or as bad as, say, Billy Beer nor as watery and tasteless as Coors. Even today if stuck in a bar that’s stuck in the 1970s for its selection of beer, I’ll choose Bud out of nostalgia not preference.

Now I still stock my own refrigerator with brews that are on sale for my everyday beer. To a point. My everyday beer is Full Sail Pale Ale, which is made in nearby Hood River, Oregon, and can usually be found at discount in my local markets. But I will easily substitute an India Pale Ale from Bridgeport or a Torpedo IPA from Sierra Nevada if the price is right or even a Mirror Pond Pale Ale from Deschutes Brewery.

All my everyday beers are more expensive than the regional and national brands. And while I am particularly keen on saving money in these hard times, I am only willing to sacrifice quality up to a point. That point being when the bottle opener touches the bottle cap.

2 Responses to “Everyday Beer”

  1. David Voth December 28, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    My “everyday beer” is Shiner Bock. Shiner is an everyday beer drinking enjoyment for those who actually like beer. http://www.shiner.com/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Everyday Beer « Croisan Views -- Topsy.com - December 29, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Mark Everett Hall, Mark Everett Hall. Mark Everett Hall said: Everyday Beer: http://t.co/vohEfa0 What beer do you drink regularly? #beer #breweries […]

Leave a Reply

