MobileMe’s My Gallery Isn’t Mine, It’s Apple’s

4 Feb

I’ve been testing the value of Apple’s MobileMe service. I use it to backup some critical files, but it’s more expensive than many other similar services. I use its e-mail service, which is very good. It does a fine job of synchronizing my calendar and contacts. All of these I use in private. This is my first public use of Apple’s online $90-a-year service.

MobileMe offers something called My Gallery, where you can post multimedia files, such as movies and photos, and share them with others. Kind of like YouTube only more difficult to use and share. In this test, I’ve created a slideshow of me (of course, it’s MobileMe) and friends on various cycling trips. Many of the photos include my riding partner, jazz musician Mike Nord.

In all honesty, I see little value in the My Gallery service. First of all, I cannot embed a My Gallery slideshow into my blog. I can only link to it. If the link launched the video, I’d be mostly satisfied. But it doesn’t.  It takes you to the MyGallery directory, not to the file I specifically put in the link. Then you need to click on the album, in this case Croisan Views. You then click on the file to launch the slideshow. How stupid! (See Comments below.)

My Gallery is a lame offering. YouTube is much more flexible, easier to use, and, being free, is far, far cheaper. 🙂 In truth, My Gallery belongs to Apple’s development team, given the limits they put on my ability to use their service. Maybe the company should re-brand the service as “MobilePartofMe.” Or “NotAllofMobileMe.” Something a little more accurate.

Here’s the link again, in case you missed it above.

4 Responses to “MobileMe’s My Gallery Isn’t Mine, It’s Apple’s”

  1. kgagne February 7, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    I too find this premium service overpriced. But my experience in Safari but not Firefox is that you can link directly to the video and it will begin playing.

    • Mark Everett Hall February 8, 2011 at 8:40 am #

      Not sure how you did that. But it raises another problem with the service: how can you affect the change in my album? Also, another problem I have with My Gallery that you may have solved: Why can’t I get full screen capability? Or did I miss that, too? 😉

      • kgagne February 8, 2011 at 9:51 am #

        Hmm — dunno about full-screen mode. I don’t see that option listed anywhere on the page, but I do see the HTML source code includes this:


        <button id="fullScreenCarousel" class="fullScreenCarouselClass" style="visibility:hidden;">

  2. Mark Everett Hall February 12, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    (Sorry for the slow response. Was off on other projects.)

    Ken is right. I can take a viewer directly to my slideshow. I have corrected my post and updated the links. Still, it was not a very straightforward process for me. Maybe I’m just simpleminded (and that should never be discounted; user error is the number-one source of computer-related mistakes), but you’d think that Apple, of all companies, which is charging a premium for a barely competitive service, would make using it drop-dead easy. Maybe add some prompts or the ability to get useful (to me) information via right clicks on the mouse. And all my other gripes remain. My Gallery is not, in my mind, enough of a value-added service to enhance MobileMe to be a good investment.

Leave a Reply

